

Chris Christie Governor

Kim Guadagno Lt. Governor

Allison Blake, PH.D., L.S.W Commissioner

JOB VACANCY POSTING

POSTING #: 069-17 **ISSUE DATE**: April 21, 2017

TITLE: PARALEGAL TECHNICIAN 2 CLOSING DATE: May 5, 2017

LOCATION: Department of Children and Families (DCF)

Various Locations

POSITIONS: MULTIPLE RANGE: A17

DISTRIBUTION: STATE WIDE **SALARY:** \$43,094.21 - \$60,725.57

SCOPE OF ELIGIBILITY: Subject to current promotional and hiring restrictions.

SPECIAL NOTE: There is an immediate need in Cumberland County.

DEFINITION: Under limited supervision, performs the research of laws, rules and regulations, the investigation of facts, and the preparation of documents used in briefs, pleadings, appeals, and other legal actions; does related work.

REQUIREMENTS

EDUCATION: Graduation from an accredited college or university with an Associate's degree as a Legal Assistant or in Paralegal Studies or, an Associate or Bachelor's Degree and a Certificate of Proficiency in Paralegal Studies.

NOTE: A Juris Doctorate (JD) degree may be substituted for the above education.

NOTE: Rule 1:20-20(a) prohibits attorneys that have been disbarred, resigned with prejudice, transferred to disability-inactive status, or under suspension from the practice of law in this or any other jurisdiction from being employed as paralegals/legal assistants in the state of New Jersey.

EXPERIENCE: Two (2) years of experience as a paralegal in a law firm, legal tribunal, or legal department in a public or private entity whose primary function is the research, enactment, enforcement, or litigation of legal matters.

LICENSE: Appointees will be required to possess a driver's license valid in New Jersey only if the operation of a vehicle, rather than employee mobility, is necessary to perform the essential duties of the position.

NOTE: APPLICABLE SPECIAL RE-EMPLOYMENT LIST ESTABLISHED AS A RESULT OF A LAYOFF WILL BE USED BEFORE ANY PROMOTIONS ARE MADE.

IMPORTANT NOTICE

RESIDENCY - Effective 9/1/11, NJ PL 70 (NJ First Act), requires all State employees to reside in New Jersey, unless exempted under the law, or current employees who live out-of-state and do not have a break-in service of more than 7 calendar days, as they are "grandfathered." New employees or current employees who were not grandfathered and who live out-of-state have one year after the date of employment to relocate their residence to New Jersey or request an exemption. Current employees who reside in NJ must retain NJ residency, unless he/she obtains an exemption. Employees who fail to meet the residency requirements or obtain an exemption will be removed from employment.

Electronic Filing:

Forward a cover letter and resume electronically to:

JobPosting@dcf.state.nj.us

Include the Job Posting # in the subject line of your email.

Alternate Filing:

If unable to file electronically, applicants may forward a cover letter and resume (including Job Posting #) to:

Linda M Dobron, Executive Director of Human Resources Department of Children and Families Office of Human Resources P.O. Box 717 Trenton, NJ 08625-0717